Annual Recognition & Awards Ceremony

Each spring, the Weidenbaum Center hosts an annual reception for our members, faculty, colleagues, students, and friends. The Weidenbaum Center Award for Excellence is also awarded to one or more recipients duing the reception.

2024 Recognition & Awards Reception

The 2024 Recognition & Awards Reception will be held on May 16, 2024. A short program will be followed by a brief presentation to this year's recipient of the Weidenbaum Center Award for Excellence, Chancellor Andrew S. Martin.  

More information

Weidenbaum Center Award for Excellence

To honor Professor Murray Weidenbaum’s life-long accomplishments and achievements, the "Weidenbaum Center Award for Excellence" will be presented to up to three individuals each year – a student or Washington University alumnus, a Washington University faculty member, and a civic-minded individual – that exhibit the character, dedication, and caliber of work associated throughout the years with Professor Weidenbaum. The award will be presented each year at a special ceremony as part of the Center’s annual reception. Richard Mahoney provided the vision and funding to make the award a reality.

Learn More About the Award & Past Recipients

Past Speakers

2022    Olivier Blanchard, C. Fred Bergsten Senior Fellow at the Peterson Institute for International Economics, Robert M. Solow Professor of Economics emeritus at MIT, and Former Economic Counselor and Director of the Research Department at the International Monetary Fund, "Fiscal Policy in an Era of Low Interest Rates" 

2019    Mark S. Wrigton, former Chancellor of Washington University in St. Louis, "Financing Higher Education: It's Getting Harder"

2018    Christine Todd Whitman, former Governor of New Jersey and EPA Administrator, "Challenges Confronting the Republican Party"

2017    Douglas Holtz-Eakin, President, American Action Forum, "Economic Policy Under the New Administration"

2016    Michael McFaul, former U.S. Ambassador to the Russian Federation, "A New Cold War? Explaining Russia's Confrontation with the West"

2015     Laurence H. Meyer, former member, Federal Reserve Board, "Public Policy Implications of How the Economy Works"

2014     Olympia Snowe, "Fighting for Public Ground: How We Can Fix the Stalemate in Congress"

2013     Martin Feldstein, George F. Baker Professor of Economics at Harvard University and President Emeritus of NBER, "Agenda for Budget and Tax Reform"

2012     Alice Rivlin, Former Vice Chairman of the Federal Reserve Board, "Economic Challenges Facing the Nation"

2011     Juan Williams, Fox News, "The Capacity of America to Address Its Most Pressing Domestic Issues"

2010     Paul Volcker, former chair, Federal Reserve Board, "Reforming the Financial System"

2009     Floyd Norris, New York Times, "Who's to Blame for the Mess We're In and How are We Going to Get Out of It?"

2008     Alejandro Wolff, Deputy U.S. Permanent Rep. to United Nations, "The United States and the United Nations: In Pursuit of Effective Multilateralism"

2007     Ernesto Zedillo, former president of Mexico, "More, Not Less, Globalization is the Answer"

2006     William Kristol, Editor, Weekly Standard, "American Politics After 9/11"

2005     Fred Barnes, Executive Editor, Weekly Standard, "The New Political Era in Washington"

2004     Charles Cook, Political Analyst, NBC affiliates, "Forces Shaping the Presidential and Congressional Election Campaigns in 2004"

2003     R. Glenn Hubbard, "Economic Challenges Facing the U.S."

2002     William Schneider, CNN, "How United is America?"

2001     Laurence Meyer, former member, Federal Reserve Board, "The Relationship Between Politics and Economics"


For more information, contact Elizabeth Larson.

Email Elizabeth Larson