William Peck

Weidenbaum Center Research Fellow
Alan A. and Edith L. Wolff Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Center for Health Economics and Policy
    View All People

    contact info:

    image of book cover

    William A. Peck, M.D., is the Alan A. and Edith L. Wolff Distinguished Professor at Washington University in St. Louis and directs the university's Center for Health Policy. Internationally recognized for his leadership in medical education and research, Dr. Peck concluded 14 years of service at Washington University as executive vice chancellor for medical affairs, dean of the School of Medicine, and president of the medical center in 2003. Dr. Peck served as chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges and of its Council of Deans, and is a frequent spokesperson on scientific and health policy issues.  Dr. Peck graduated from Harvard College, then earned his M.D. from the University of Rochester. In 1976 he was recruited to Washington University as the John E. and Adaline Simon Professor of Medicine.  The author of more than 100 publications, Dr. Peck is known for his research on bone and mineral metabolism and his studies on the cause of osteoporosis. He was founding president of the National Osteoporosis Foundation and has served as president of the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research. Among Dr. Peck’s many honors is election to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and an honorary Doctor of Science degree from the University of Rochester.  Dr. Peck now serves on the boards of TIAA-CREF Trust Company, Allied Health Care Products, Centene Corporation’s Health Policy Advisory Council (Founding Chair), Anvita Health’s Advisory Council (Founding Chair) and the St. Louis Regional Chamber & Growth Association. He also served on the Institute of Medicine’s Committee on Redesigning Health Insurance Benefits, Payment and Performance Improvement Program and on the Board of Research!America (Vice-Chair). He became the Founding Chairman of the Board of Innovate St. Louis in 2006.