2023 Weidenbaum Center Internal Grant Awardees

Congratulations to our Fall 2023 Weidenbaum Center Internal Grant Awardees! 

The Weidenbaum Center provides research funding to tenure-track faculty for both Small Grant and Impact Grant Proposals. Generally, this funding is provided to faculty in the Departments of Economics, Political Science, and Sociology. 

Small grants awards are typically under $15,000 and funding is provided for up to one year. Awards are given for research that focuses on social science and/or public policy. These awards fund research supporting collaborative efforts, research with a high probability of prominent publication, and research leading to an application for external funding. 

Impact grant awards range from $50,000 to $100,000 with proposed work spread over one to three years. Awards are given for research that stakes out a long-term research agenda to advance social-scientific knowledge. These awards generally include collaboration with faculty across departments and sometimes other institutions, and encourage collaborations with junior faculty members.  

Below we list our Fall 2023 awardees. To see a list of our past awardees, click here

David Carter, Department of Political Science, How Individual Preferences Are Formed Over Foreign Direct Investment 

David Cunningham, Department of Sociology, Reckoning With 'The Troubles': Contending Public Memories and Memorializations of Fatal Violence in Contemporary Belfast 

Ted Enamorado, Department of Political Science, De-censor: How China Reveals Politically Sensitive Information 

Steven Fazzari, Departments of Economics and Sociology, Rising Inequality in American Households' Sustainable Consumption 

Andrew Jordan, Department of Economics, Careers in Policing: A Human Capital Approach 

Jacob Montgomery, Department of Political Science, Conditional Random Fields 

Lucia Motolinia Carballo, Department of Political Science, Candidate Gender Selection and Competitiveness 

Israel Mourifie, Department of Economics, Econometrics in Centralized School Choice Mechanisms

Michael Olson, Department of Political Science, Historical Sub-National Legislative Politics in the United States 

Guillermo Rosas, Department of Political Science, Assessing the Impact of AI on Policy Preferences: Experimental Evidence from Mexico 

Carly Wayne, Department of Political Science, Violent Interactions in the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict